Fruit Crisp (Gluten Free)

I was in the mood for something yummy and I’ve always enjoyed a good apple crisp so I decided to try one I found on Pinterest. We only had a few apples so I decided to add some pears and other frozen berries I had in the freezer. I adapted the recipe so it was Gluten free. The crisp I made just finished baking and is now cooling down but the house smells like heaven and I can’t wait to try it with my family tonight for dessert! On top of that, my dad went food shopping this weekend and saw some lactose free ice cream from a brand I like and that uses coconut milk so it’s real creamy πŸ˜‰ That will be perfect on top of my fruit crisp!!!!

2015-03-23 12.23.232015-03-23 12.13.49
That is the list of ingredients. As you can see from my picture of the ingredients I used, there are some differences. I like to edit recipes a little to use things I have at home while still trying to stick to the original plan.
It asks for 4 apples, I used 1 so I needed to make up for the other 3 by adding more pears and I wanted to add blueberries which were not in the original recipe.
Also, I don’t have oranges right now (or I’m just blind and couldn’t find any) so I used clementines or tangerines or wtv those mini oranges are called, for the orange zest and Tropicana orange juice with pulp for the freshly squeezed orange juice.
No idea what apple pie spice is and couldn’t find any in my spice rack so I just didn’t put anything for that ingredient and it’s only 1 teaspoon so I didn’t think it would be a big deal… Hopefully I’m not wrong, we’ll have to wait and see later!

2015-03-23 12.25.14
The topping part is where the gluten free substitutes were needed as I don’t consume Gluten.
I replaced the flour with Gluten-free All Purpose flour
And the oats with gluten free oats.
Both of those GF ingredients are from the same brand, Bob’s Red Mill.

Once you have all of your ingredients, start by peeling and slicing your fruit into wedges. I only needed to peel 1 apple and I used canned pears so I sliced those into wedges then cut the wedges in half.

2015-03-23 12.47.31
After peeling and measuring your berries into a large bowl, get your lemon and “orange” zest then 2 Tablespoons of juice from each and add to the bowl with your sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and apple pie spice if you have that…

2015-03-23 12.47.232015-03-23 12.54.56
Mix everything and pour into large pan evenly.
This is when you should turn your oven on if you’re slow like I am and getting my ingredients together. 350 degrees
2015-03-23 13.16.47

Now mix all of your dry ingredients for the topping together in a large mixing bowl and cut the COLD butter into very small cubes and add to the dry mixture and mix in a food processor or mixer thing like in the picture πŸ˜‰

2015-03-23 13.09.182015-03-23 13.09.35
Once the butter is blended into tiny little pea shaped balls, add the mixture on top of your fruit medley evenly over the top. I used my hands to distribute.
2015-03-23 13.16.05

2015-03-23 13.16.52

Now throw that whole thing in the oven for 60 minutes or until the top is browned and slightly crisp, hence the name of the dish πŸ˜‰

This is what my final product looks like, and I just tried a spoonful while it’s cooling down, it’s yummy!

2015-03-23 14.24.21
I was getting worried watching it bake because the juices from the fruit were coming through the topping and I was afraid it would just all seep through and become a big pan of fruit granola type thing. I believe this happened because I used much more frozen fruit than directed and my pears were from a can, so very juicy. It might have a little to do with the gluten free flour as well, not sure how that affects the recipe’s concentration but the flavor is definitely there!
Go forth and try your own fruit crumble/crisps and let me know how they turn out!

Leave a Reply

